Home / Responsibilities: Ministry of Environment

Responsibilities: Ministry of Environment

  • Environmental service matters.
  • Policy matters on air and other forms of pollution.
  • Beautification and development of open spaces in the State except horticulture.
  • Control of outdoor advertisements and signposts.
  • Field laboratory and geo-physical survey in conjunction with other stakeholders.
  • Collation of data on industrial hazards and setting of standards.
  • Monitoring of cemeteries.
  • Liaison with NAFDAC, NDLEA, FMENV and Lagos State Environmental and Special Offences and Enforcement Unit on any related matter.
  • Supervision of Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency (LASEPA), Lagos State Waste Management Agency (LAWMA), Lagos State Signage and Advertisement Agency (LASAA) and Lagos State Waste Water Management Office (LSWMO).
  • Development, control and maintenance of public parks and gardens.
  • Evaluation of Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) and Environmental Audit Report (EAR).
  • Control, management and monitoring of public toilets.
  • Co-ordination of environmental sanitation exercise and protection services.
  • Initiation, formulation, execution and monitoring of all issues relating to climate change towards mitigating the negative impact of climate change.
  • Ground water hydrology.
  • Control of water pollution and hygiene.
  • Identification and management of gullies and degraded areas.
  • Preparation of master plan of drainage system in Lagos State.
  • Collection and disposal of storm water.
  • Supervision and management of donor agencies assisted projects.
  • Development and management of drainage plans.
  • Design, construction and maintenance of primary and secondary collectors.
  • Supervision of projects on major channels being funded by World Bank.
  • Laboratory services for sewage, water and environmental pollution.
  • Control of water pollution and hygiene.
  • Treatment of waste water.
  • Liaison with Water Corporation on other related matters.


1. Enforcement & Advocacy Dept

2. Drainage & Water Dept

3. EFAD/DMO Dept

4. Sanitation Services Dept

5. Environmental Mgt Dept

6. Admin & HR Dept

7. Accounts Dept


1. Public Affairs Research Unit

2. Legal Unit

3. Internal Audit Unit

4. Planning Research & Statistics Unit

5. Procurement Unit

6. ICT Unit